It’s That Time of Year!


As 2017 comes to an end, the various entertainment industries are in the throes of award season.  We’ve already had the Emmys, and now, in the first couple of months of 2018, a cavalcade of awards shows will be broadcast.  In January alone, we’ll see the Golden Globes, the Critics’ Choice Awards, the Screen Actors Guild Awards and the Grammys …none of which remotely interest me.

I’m more interested in awards recognizing the great books that have come out in the previous year. Examples include the Aurealis Award, the Edgars, the Hugos, the Nebulas, the Locus, the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Philip K. Dick Award, the Newbery Medal, the Shirley Jackson Awards…. just to name a few. There are many more, but my favorite is undeniably the Bram Stoker Awards for obvious reasons.

Now is the time of year when authors, editors and publishers scramble to make the public aware…

View original post 150 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s